Omukama Iguru of Bunyoro Drops Eight Ministers, Appoints Kajura Advisor|News

Iguru reading cabinet list in 2016 at his palace in Kihande, Masindi

Augustus Bigirwenkya


The omukama of Bunyoro Kitara kingdom, Solomon Gafabusa Iguru has reshuffled his cabinet dropping eight ministers from their ministerial positions.

The eight ministers who have been dropped include first deputy prime minister and minister for land, Kiiza Xavier; second deputy prime minister and minister for agriculture, Edward Byakagaba; Teddy Owatta, minister for gender; Paul Kato, minister for works and infrastructural development; minister for culture and palace affairs, Mugenyi Ashirraf; the minister of state for security, Retired Lt. Rugadya David and Hon. Kiiza the state minister for environment.

The Omukama also dropped the kingdom speaker, Jose Wamara who has been replaced by Robert Irumba, the former kingdom’s attorney general. Rujumba Kahigwa who has been serving as the minster for environment and forestry had been demoted to deputy minister for foreign affairs.

The Omukama also retained Jonan Atuhura and Norman Lukumu as his principal private secretary and the prime minster respectively. He also appointed Mrs. Busiinge Hariet Mugenyi as first deputy prime minister and Oscar Busiinge Baitwa as the second deputy premier from minister for general duties.

Other prominent people in the country the Omuaka has appointed are former first deputy prime minister and minister of public service in Musveni’s government, Henry Muganwa Kajura has been appointed as the Omukama’s advisor on palace affairs and former parmanant secretary ministry of energy and mineral development, Kaliisa Kabagambe has been appointed as advisor on oil and gas affairs.

The full list of appointees is also attached here.